The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P. Minister of Environment and Climate Change Jonathan. Wilkinson@parl.gc.ca

House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0A6

Re: Open letter from 18 Alberta environmental and community groups on the Teck Frontier Oil Sands Mine

Dear Minister,

The undersigned are environmental and community groups from Alberta that are urging you to not approve the proposal for Teck Resources' Frontier Oil Sands Mine.

We are Albertans who are deeply concerned that the Frontier Mine's significant adverse impacts on the environment in northern Alberta and contributions to greenhouse gas emissions cannot be justified. This mega project is incompatible with a future for our province that is sustainable and respects Indigenous and local communities.

The environmental degradation and emissions from this project will be a burden to future generations. It is not in the public interest to move forward with the Frontier Mine.

In a project of this magnitude, the adverse effects are far from isolated to the project area. Frontier Mine will directly contribute to the:

- Irreversible loss of 14,000 hectares of wetlands.
- Destruction of 3,000 hectares of old-growth forest.
- Loss of vital habitat for species at risk and migratory birds.
- Damage to the ecological integrity of the Wood Buffalo National Park and Peace-Athabasca Delta.
- Failure to meet our Canada's climate target of net zero by 2050.

The Joint Review Panel's report summarizes our concerns about the project's impacts on the environment and Indigenous rights. The panel found that the Frontier mine will "result in significant adverse environmental effects on the asserted rights, use of land and resources, and culture of Indigenous groups who use the Project area."

To remain profitable (and ensure Teck covers the \$2.9 billion expense to clean up the project when operations are complete), the Frontier Mine will depend on high oil prices throughout its 41-year lifespan. We are concerned that the economic viability of this project could result in the public covering the costs for clean up or the deferment of sufficient remediation.

Approving this project moves our province in the wrong direction. We urge you to not approve the Teck Frontier Oil Sands Mine.

Yours sincerely,

Calgary Citizens on Climate Change (4C)

Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment - Alberta Committee

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Northern Alberta

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society Southern Alberta

Canmore Collegiate Green Club

Climate Justice Edmonton

The Council of Canadians Edmonton Chapter

Crooked Creek Conservancy Society of Athabasca

Edmonton River Valley Conservation Coalition

Extinction Rebellion Calgary

Healthy Edmonton

Keepers of the Athabasca

Keepers of the Water

Mewassin Community Council

Peace River Environmental Society

Sierra Club Canada Foundation - Prairie Chapter

Southern Alberta Group for the Environment

Alberta Wilderness Association





























The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

The Honourable Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry

The Honourable Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, President of the Treasury Board

The Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport

The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

The Honourable Harjit Sajjan, Minister of National Defence

The Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development

The Honourable Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

The Honourable Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health

The Honourable Bardish Chagger, Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Honourable Karina Gould, Minister of International Development

The Honourable Ahmed Hussen, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

The Honourable Seamus O'Regan, Minister of Natural Resources

The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

The Honourable Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

The Honourable Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade

The Honourable Filomena Tassi, Minister of Labour

The Honourable David Lametti, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

The Honourable Bernadette Jordan, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

The Honourable Joyce Murray, Minister of Digital Government

The Honourable Anita Anand, Minister of Public Services and Procurement

The Honourable Mona Fortier, Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance

The Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Canadian Heritage

The Honourable Marco E. L. Mendicino, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

The Honourable Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services

The Honourable Deb Schulte, Minister of Seniors

The Honourable Dan Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs