Call for Nominations for 2010 Better Transit Award

March 31, 2010

Do you know an individual who has made significant contributions to the improvement or advancement of public transit in the Edmonton area?  If so, would you like to see this individual's contributions recognized with the annual Gerry Wright Better Transit Award? 

Five years ago, Citizens for Better Transit introduced a public award program to recognize outstanding contributions to public transit.  Since its inception, the Gerry Wright Better Transit Award has recognized worthy citizens at the annual ETS Community Fair each April. 

Sponsored by the Amalgamated Transit Union Local 569 as well as other organizations and businesses, this award program is important to demonstrate to present and future generations the high value placed on individual contributions toward the improvement of our city and its quality of life.  It also serves to encourage citizens to continue to step forward and promote further improvement of our transit system. 

Nominations are being accepted for the 2010 Award until March 31st (note extended deadline).  The Award will be presented to the chosen recipient on Saturday, April 24th at the ETS Community Fair and Opening of the Century Park LRT extension.

Nomination forms are available at; nominations are accepted either by regular mail or electronically (email) to [email protected]